The Challenges of Structural Health Monitoring (SHM)

This webinar was presented:

 Tuesday, September 2,  2020     

 04:00 PM CET | 09:00 AM CT |         10:00 AM ET

  English          

 

The structural health monitoring of civil engineering structures such as bridges, tunnels, wind turbines and buildings, is becoming an increasingly important objective for end-users, manufacturers and maintenance teams. Today’s structures are always "online", generating data 24 hours a day. 

Key requirements for continuous monitoring include precise time synchronization of different sensor and amplifier technologies across long distances, long-term stability, and signal quality. Trustworthy decisions and predictions can only be made based on reliable data.

Further requirements include a flexible combination of continuous measurements and faster triggered recordings of more dynamic events, remote access to the DAQ system for updates and configuration changes, alarm generation, status information and data transfer including cloud-based visualization and long-term data storage.

 

Dietmar Maicz

Monitoring Specialist at HBK

Contact: 

[email protected]

If you have any questions regarding the webinar topic or would like to be contacted by one of our technical experts, please click here.